The Janes

Author: Louisa Luna Publisher/Year: Text Publishing/2020 Publisher Overview ‘Men pretty much have a triangle. Sex, drugs, money,’ she said, drawing a triangle in the air with her finger. ‘Every man who commits a criminal act does it in service to one or more of those three things…Most men, actually, do everything because of them.’ On …

Read more

The Godmother

Author: Hannelore Cayre Publisher/Year: Black Inc./2019 Publisher Overview Meet Patience Portefeux, fifty-three, an underpaid French-Arabic translator who specialises in police phone taps. Widowed after the sudden death of her husband, Patience is wedged between the costs of raising her daughters and the nursing home fees for her ageing mother. She’s laboured for twenty-five years to …

Read more

Where the Dead Go

Author: Sarah Bailey Publisher/Year: Allen & Unwin/2019 Publisher Overview A fifteen-year-old girl has gone missing after a party in the middle of the night. The following morning her boyfriend is found brutally murdered in his home. Was the girl responsible for the murder, or is she also a victim of the killer? But who would …

Read more

Circus Hearts 1: All The Little Bones

Author: Ellie Marney Publisher/Year: Bearded Lady Press/2018 Publisher Overview A teenage trapeze artist and an apprentice strongman on the run from a terrible crime… Seventeen-year-old Sorsha Neary’s life is changed in one night when she defends herself behind the vans of her family circus troupe. Now Sorsha and apprentice strongman Colm Mackay are travelling south, …

Read more

Whitsunday Dawn

Author: Annie Seaton Publisher/Year: Mira/2018 Publisher overview With the pristine beauty of the Whitsundays under threat, can they expose the truth in time? Australian author Annie Seaton brings to life a new area of romance – Eco-Adventure. Perfect for fans of Di Morrissey. When Olivia Sheridan arrives in the Whitsundays as spokesperson for big mining …

Read more

The Suicide Bride

Author: Tanya Bretherton Publisher/Year: Hachette Australia/2019 Publisher overview From the author of the acclaimed THE SUITCASE BABY – shortlisted for the Ned Kelly and Nib awards – comes the chilling story of a charlatan, a murder-suicide, and a family tree so twisted that it sprouts monsters. Whenever society produces a depraved criminal, we wonder: is …

Read more

The Fragments

Author: Toni Jordan Publisher/Year: Text Publishing/2018 Publisher overview Inga Karlson died in a fire in New York in the 1930s, leaving behind three things: a phenomenally successful first novel, the scorched fragments of a second book—and a literary mystery that has captivated generations of readers. Nearly fifty years later, Brisbane bookseller Caddie Walker is waiting …

Read more

The Death of Noah Glass

Author: Gail Jones Publisher/Year: Text Publishing/2018 Publisher overview The art historian Noah Glass, having just returned from a trip to Sicily, is discovered floating face down in the swimming pool at his Sydney apartment block. His adult children, Martin and Evie, must come to terms with the shock of their father’s death. But a sculpture …

Read more

Murder, Misadventures and Miserable Ends: Tales from a Colonial Coroner’s Court

Author: Dr Catie Gilchrist Publisher/Year: Harper Collins/2019 Publisher overview Murder, manslaughter, suicide, mishap – the very public business of determining death in colonial Sydney. Murder in colonial Sydney was a surprisingly rare occurrence, so when it did happen it caused a great sensation. People flocked to the scene of the crime, to the coroner’s court …

Read more

Unsolved Australia: Lost Boys, Gone Girls

Author: Justine Ford Publisher/Year: Pan Macmillan Australia/2019 Publisher Description Can you catch a killer or find a missing person? Australia is ‘the lucky country’. But not for everyone. Unsolved Australia: Lost Boys, Gone Girls tells thirteen stories of people whose luck ran out in the most mysterious of circumstances. It’s a journalistic deep-dive into Australia’s dark heart by one …

Read more