Gathering Dark

Author: Candice Fox Publisher/Year: Bantam/2020 Review first published in the Sydney Morning Herald on 3 April 2020 and reprinted with permission. Reviewer: Sue Turnbull As a tough opener ‘‘I looked up into the eye of a gun’’ is hard to beat. But it gets better. The ‘‘I’’ is Blair, a former paediatrician who served time …

Read more

Trust Me, I’m Dead

Author: Sherryl Clark Publisher/Year: Verve Books/2019 Publisher Overview She hasn’t seen her brother in years. Now, he’s dead. When Judi Westerholme finds out her estranged brother has been murdered, she assumes it’s connected to his long term drug addiction. Returning home, she is shocked to discover he had been clean for years, had a wife …

Read more

The Janes

Author: Louisa Luna Publisher/Year: Text Publishing/2020 Publisher Overview ‘Men pretty much have a triangle. Sex, drugs, money,’ she said, drawing a triangle in the air with her finger. ‘Every man who commits a criminal act does it in service to one or more of those three things…Most men, actually, do everything because of them.’ On …

Read more

The Godmother

Author: Hannelore Cayre Publisher/Year: Black Inc./2019 Publisher Overview Meet Patience Portefeux, fifty-three, an underpaid French-Arabic translator who specialises in police phone taps. Widowed after the sudden death of her husband, Patience is wedged between the costs of raising her daughters and the nursing home fees for her ageing mother. She’s laboured for twenty-five years to …

Read more

Where the Dead Go

Author: Sarah Bailey Publisher/Year: Allen & Unwin/2019 Publisher Overview A fifteen-year-old girl has gone missing after a party in the middle of the night. The following morning her boyfriend is found brutally murdered in his home. Was the girl responsible for the murder, or is she also a victim of the killer? But who would …

Read more

Circus Hearts 1: All The Little Bones

Author: Ellie Marney Publisher/Year: Bearded Lady Press/2018 Publisher Overview A teenage trapeze artist and an apprentice strongman on the run from a terrible crime… Seventeen-year-old Sorsha Neary’s life is changed in one night when she defends herself behind the vans of her family circus troupe. Now Sorsha and apprentice strongman Colm Mackay are travelling south, …

Read more

Whitsunday Dawn

Author: Annie Seaton Publisher/Year: Mira/2018 Publisher overview With the pristine beauty of the Whitsundays under threat, can they expose the truth in time? Australian author Annie Seaton brings to life a new area of romance – Eco-Adventure. Perfect for fans of Di Morrissey. When Olivia Sheridan arrives in the Whitsundays as spokesperson for big mining …

Read more

The Suicide Bride

Author: Tanya Bretherton Publisher/Year: Hachette Australia/2019 Publisher overview From the author of the acclaimed THE SUITCASE BABY – shortlisted for the Ned Kelly and Nib awards – comes the chilling story of a charlatan, a murder-suicide, and a family tree so twisted that it sprouts monsters. Whenever society produces a depraved criminal, we wonder: is …

Read more