NOW ONLINE – in conversation with Jacqueline Bublitz

Join Readings and Sisters in Crime as we celebrate the release of Before You Knew My Name (Allen & Unwin) by Jacqueline Bublitz. This is an extraordinary, unputdownable debut novel that explores trauma, connection, and our cultural obsession with dead girls. However this is not just another novel about a dead girl. Before You Knew My …

Read more

Now online: Witness for the Prosecution: Supporting survivors of sexual assault

Sisters in Crime Australia was again proud to join forces with the Sir Zelman Cowen Centre, Victoria University, to present its 15th Law Week event. An expert panel – Louise Milligan, Jane Patrick, Michele Williams QC and Rachel Spencer –  discuss the experience of survivors of sexual assault and their journey through the Australian legal system and how it make it …

Read more

BAD Sydney – The Chase – Candice Fox in conversation

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival presents Candice Fox in conversation with Michael Duffy about her latest book, which you really won’t be able to put down! This event will take place online on Thursday 13 May at 6pm, and tickets are just $10. Book HERE. Candice Fox is at the top of her form in The …

Read more

Sherryl Clark author event: Red herrings and fishy clues (Vic)

What does it take to write an unforgettable crime novel? To celebrate the publication of her second crime novel, ‘ Dead and Gone‘, author Sherryl Clark is joined by Lucia Nardo to share what makes remarkable crime fiction; the ins and outs of plot, how to wrangle a series and keep track of characters and …

Read more

Zipping on the zeitgeist: Q&A with Meg Mundell

The Trespassers, Meg Mundell’s first foray into crime fiction, is presciently set during a global pandemic, and tracks the deprivations and fears of passengers sailing from London to Melbourne as new infections break out on board. It won Sisters in Crime’s 20th Davitt Award (Best Crime Novel). Meg talked to Janice Simpson about how this …

Read more

Open invitation: Launch of Amy Suiter Clarke’s Girl, 11 (Carlton, Vic)

Everyone is invited to Readings’  launch of  Amy Suiter Clarke’s debut novel Girl, 11, by R.W.R McDonald (author of The Nancys), Tuesday 4 May, 7pm, at The Collective, 139 Elgin Street, Carlton. In this thrilling debut for fans of Karin Slaughter and Riley Sager, a social worker turned true-crime podcaster investigates a decades-old serial killer …

Read more

Breathless Prose – Queenscliffe Literary Festival

Catch multiple Davitt winner (and Sisters in Crime stalwart) Emma Viskic and Josh Pomare in conversation with Jock Serong on Saturday May 15, 11am-12pm,  at Queenscliffe Literary Festival (regional Victoria) in a session called Breathless Prose about why Melbourne suits the crime genre so well. $25. Book HERE.  

Number 10: The milestone or the millstone? – B.M. Carroll

Having just submitted my tenth novel, I find myself reflecting on the craft of writing and some of the challenges that come with having a long backlist. I was in my late twenties when I started writing my first novel. Writing was a hobby, a way of escaping the stress of my corporate job. I …

Read more