How to get away with murder

We investigate murder within crime literature and take a humorous stab at revealing what works – and what doesn’t – when it comes to making a killing. The advantages – and disadvantages – of poison, bullets, a push off a tall building or cliff, or the Strangers on a Train scenario will all go under …

Read more

POSTPONED. The past is never dead: Kingston Libraries mystery and mayhem month.

POSTPONED DUE TO COVID. STAND BY FOR A NEW DATE! Hauntingly, events of the past can often infiltrate the here-and-now with fatal consequences. Kingston Libraries and Sisters in Crime present newly-minted Melbourne crime novelists Amy Suiter Clarke, Suzanne Frankham and Ruth McIvor as they talk to award-winning author Leigh Redhead about such events that refuse …

Read more

Working Class Girl: Q&A with Karina Kilmore

Debut author Karina Kilmore drew on her own life and work background to write her debut novel Where the Truth Lies (Simon & Schuster) which centres on a journalist investigating a death on the wharves and the tribal divide between big business, the media and unions. She spoke to Maggie Baron.  Q: Hi Karina, firstly …

Read more

Everyday psychopaths: Kelli Hawkins

Writing a crime thriller marks the author as a slightly suspicious person; perhaps even a downright shady one – or so I’ve recently discovered. My debut novel, Other People’s Houses, was released in March and I’ve lost count of the number of friends and family – even strangers – who’ve asked how, and why, I …

Read more

Vanda Symon – pharmacist, fencer and NZ crime queen

After a six-month hiatus, Murder Mondays are back, but with a difference. The one-on-one author interviews which proved so popular during last year’s pandemic won’t be weekly this time round. They’ll be monthly but national co-convenor (and author), Karina Kilmore, will still be the one asking the tough questions. This month, Karina put fellow-Kiwi, Vanda …

Read more

BAD Sydney – The Chase – Candice Fox in conversation

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival presents Candice Fox in conversation with Michael Duffy about her latest book, which you really won’t be able to put down! This event will take place online on Thursday 13 May at 6pm, and tickets are just $10. Book HERE. Candice Fox is at the top of her form in The …

Read more

Sherryl Clark author event: Red herrings and fishy clues (Vic)

What does it take to write an unforgettable crime novel? To celebrate the publication of her second crime novel, ‘ Dead and Gone‘, author Sherryl Clark is joined by Lucia Nardo to share what makes remarkable crime fiction; the ins and outs of plot, how to wrangle a series and keep track of characters and …

Read more

Zipping on the zeitgeist: Q&A with Meg Mundell

The Trespassers, Meg Mundell’s first foray into crime fiction, is presciently set during a global pandemic, and tracks the deprivations and fears of passengers sailing from London to Melbourne as new infections break out on board. It won Sisters in Crime’s 20th Davitt Award (Best Crime Novel). Meg talked to Janice Simpson about how this …

Read more

Open invitation: Launch of Amy Suiter Clarke’s Girl, 11 (Carlton, Vic)

Everyone is invited to Readings’  launch of  Amy Suiter Clarke’s debut novel Girl, 11, by R.W.R McDonald (author of The Nancys), Tuesday 4 May, 7pm, at The Collective, 139 Elgin Street, Carlton. In this thrilling debut for fans of Karin Slaughter and Riley Sager, a social worker turned true-crime podcaster investigates a decades-old serial killer …

Read more