Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award – opens 15 May; closes 31 July

July 1, 2019 @ 6:00 pm



Kennedy Foundation hosts prestigious S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award

Enter by clicking here

The Kennedy Foundation is delighted to announce it will host the 10th  S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award in conjunction with the inaugural Kennedy Lecture dinner in September 2019.

Sandra (Dawn) Harvey was an outstanding print journalist and television producer who was also the author and co-author of five true crime books. With long-time collaborator Lindsay Simpson she won the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

The S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award recognizes excellence in this genre of writing, either fiction or non-fiction and welcomes entries from journalists. This year’s award marks the 10th  time the award has been offered since Sandra’s death in 2008 aged 49.

It will be presented at the inaugural Kennedy Lecture dinner, on Tuesday September 10, ahead of the speech by the winner of the Kennedy Awards’ Journalist of the Year at Bar M (formerly Bar Machiavelli) in Rushcutters Bay.

Kennedy Foundation chairman Mr Simon Dulhunty said the foundation was honoured to be hosting the S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award.

“Sandra Harvey was a superb and well-respected journalist who began her career at AAP with Les Kennedy before working at The Sydney Morning Herald where her police and crime-writing talents caught the eye of then NSW Police Minister Paul Whelan who hired her as a policy adviser,” Mr Dulhunty said.

At Four Corners she was a researcher and producer before her untimely death from cancer. Two of her three books co-written with Simpson – Brothers in Arms and My Husband, My Killer – were made into top-rating television productions. The last of her published works, The Ghost of Ludwig Gertsch, resulted in the re-opening of an inquest.

“Sandra’s first love was storytelling either through broadcast, newsprint or books … her career highlighted the versatility of journalism as well as the creative ways in which crime stories can be told,” Mr Dulhunty said.

The S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award, formerly run by ACWA as one of the Ned Kelly Awards, again offers entrants the opportunity to produce a ripping yarn this time in either fiction or non-fiction (creative non-fiction or long-form journalism) in 3000-5000 words. Entries must embody the art of storytelling with good literary prose, a tight plot, good dialogue and be well structured.

A cash prize and day trip for two aboard the Providence V, a classic schooner based in the Whitsundays, QLD, will be offered by new sponsor, Providence Sailing.

Registration for the S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award can be made via the award page. In line with all other Kennedy Awards, an entry fee of $50 applies. 

Entry material for the award – with S.D. Harvey Award in the subject line – can be submitted for judging from now until 6pm on July 31, 2019, via kennedyawardsjudging@gmail.com  

Finalists will be announced at the Kennedy Awards on August 9 and then posted on the S. D Harvey Award page.

Media inquiries: Steve Warnock (0424 407 717) or Lindsay Simpson (0408 278 417)


July 1, 2019
6:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,