Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Banjo Prize 2021 – entries open

March 31, 2021 @ 8:00 am - May 28, 2021 @ 5:00 pm

HarperCollins Publishers Australia is delighted to announce that entries  open for the 2021 Banjo Prize on Wednesday 31 March. HarperCollins launched The Banjo Prize in 2018 in a quest to find Australia’s next great storyteller.

The inaugural winner was Tim Slee, whose delightful debut novel Taking Tom Murray Home was published by HarperCollins in July 2019.  The 2019 winner was Sisters in Crime member Elizabeth Flann’s incredibly tense Australian thriller Beware of Dogs, published in January 2021, and another Sisters in Crime member Dinuka McKenzie won in 2020 with her gripping contemporary crime novel, Flood Debris, which will be published in February 2022.

The Banjo Prize is offered annually and is open to all Australian fiction writers, offering the chance to win a publishing contract with HarperCollins, with an advance of $15,000. Writers need to have a full manuscript at the time of submission. Applications also need to include a synopsis of approximately 500 words and a 200-word biographical statement. Any Australian resident aged 18 or older is eligible to enter.

Entries open: 9.00am AEDT Wednesday 31 March

Entries close: 5.00pm AEDT Friday 28 May 2021

Shortlist announced: 5.00pm AEDT Friday 28 May 2021

Winners announced: Tuesday 28 September 2021

For more information please visit: www.harpercollins.com.au/thebanjoprize/