Carmel Shute to be honoured at Ned Kelly Awards


The NED KELLY AWARDS shortlist has been announced along with the news that this year

the Australian Crime Writers Association will honour our very own

Carmel Shute with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

As we all know, Carmel – a founder and longest-serving National Co-Convener of Sisters in Crime Australia – has spent a quarter of a century supporting and nurturing Australian women crime writers.

It is therefore also an honour for the Sisters that our great champion is being recognised by Australia’s other great crime writing organisation


The NED KELLY AWARDS will be presented during the Melbourne Writers Festival
on Sunday August 28 at 4 pm at TOFF IN THE TOWN, 252 Swanston St, Melbourne.

It is a free event including live music, storytelling and door prizes.



The 2016 NED KELLY AWARD shortlists are:

Best Fiction

Mark Dapin, R&R (Penguin Random House)

Garry Disher, The Heat (Text Publishing)

Candice Fox, Fall (Penguin Random House)

Adrian McKinty, Rain Dogs (Allen & Unwin)

Barry Maitland, Ash Island (Text Publishing)

Dave Warner, Before it Breaks (Fremantle Press)


Best True Crime

Gideon Haigh, Certain Admissions (Penguin Random House)

Kate Kyriacou, The Sting (Echo Publishing)

Martin McKenzie-Murray, A Murder Without Motive (Scribe)

Rebecca Poulson, Killing Love (Simon & Schuster)

Mark Tedeschi, Kidnapped (Simon & Schuster)


Best First Fiction

Tania Chandler, Please Don’t Leave Me Here (Scribe)

J M Green, Good Money (Scribe)

Mark Hollands, Amplify (Self-Published)

Gary Kemble, Skin Deep (Echo Publishing)

Iain Ryan, Four Days (Broken River Books)

Emma Viskic, Resurrection Bay (Echo Publishing)


For further details, contact the Australian Crime Writers Association on 0415 496066

Or refer to our website: