Loading Events

« All Events

View Online: Lynda La Plante

Lynda La Plante made television history in 1991 when she created Prime Suspect, starring Helen Mirren as DCI Jane Tennison. She is now the author of over forty novels, all of which have been bestsellers.

Lynda talked about her stellar career and her latest book, Vanished, with Sisters in Crime’s Jacqui Horwood, on 23 April. The third in the Sunday Times bestselling Detective Jack Warr series, Vanished follows Buried, and Judas Horse. The series had its origins in La Plante’s iconic bestselling series, Widows.

Click on the link below, to view the video (runs for 47 minutes).

Lynda last spoke to Sisters in Crime Australia in 1997 and much has happened since then – a raft of books, including prequels to Prime Suspect, screenplays, television productions, and the podcast, Listening to the Dead.

Lynda’s achievements have been recognised by many awards and appointments. Her original script for the much-acclaimed Prime Suspect won awards from BAFTA, Emmys, British Broadcasting and Royal Television Society as well as the 1993 Edgar Allan Poe Award.

Lynda is an honorary fellow of the British Film Institute and was awarded the BAFTA Dennis Potter Best Writer’s Award in 2000. In 2008, she was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for services to Literature, Drama, and Charity. She is the first layperson to be awarded an honorary fellowship to the Forensic Science Society.

Jacqui Horwood is a librarian at the State Library Victoria. She has won the 2003 Scarlet Stiletto Award, the 2005 Award for Best Crime in Verse, and the 2016 Silver Stiletto. She was shortlisted for the 2019 Scarlet Stiletto Awards, and the 2015 and 2016 Ada Cambridge Biography in Prose Awards. Her stories have been published in anthologies and e-zines. Jacqui is a former Sisters in Crime convenor and was a Davitt Awards judge for ten years.

To buy Vanished, go to Booktopia here.

The three $150 crime book packs were won by Gillian Morrison, Lesley Gillis, and Fiona Beckwith.

Supported by the Melbourne UNESCO City of Literature Office.